Jussi Kallio/Anniversary Puukko

I am interested in posting puukko that have been made to observe the 100th anniversary of Finnish independence which is December 6, 2017. The first one I’ve seen is by Jussi Kallio.  Jussi has been making knives since 2012 when he took a course at an adult education center in Lapua, where he lives.

If anyone has any anniversary knives, even of earlier anniversaries let me know and I will post them before December 6. Contact information is on the Index Page.

Jussi Kallio:

“Arja Gräsbeck taught me the basics of knife making. He was a really good and motivating teacher. The blade making I have learned myself. The Facebook page, Puukko Areena has been a lot of help to figure out how to make blades. Thanks to all those who have guided me.

I try to make a knife for what I like, what pleases my eye. I like to use good steel blades. On the handle I like to use my imagination. I use rubber, brass, plastic, birch bark, birch wool, acrylic and many other materials. I try everything new and different. I even use some recycled materials in the handle of the knives.”

Juss1 2

“My favorite knife, it has a hockey puck handle. The handle is blue and black, on the side of the handle is a silver lion. The blade is made of 80crv2 steel.”

jk34

Some more of Jussi’s knives:

Jussi9Jussi10

jk302

jk39

jk14

jk42

jk403

Jussi15

JK9

Jussi28Jussi 20

Jussi16Jussi17

JKJk2Jk3Jk4

jk25jk24jk20jk17jk16jk13Jk11Jk10Jk6Jk5JK8JK

jk21jk22

Jk28jk29jk16

Jussi26

Jussi36Jussi32

 

Jussi

Jussi Kallio

 

One response to “Jussi Kallio/Anniversary Puukko

  1. Jussi’s Suomi100 icehockey puukko knife belongs to the top of modern knife making.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.